My One Word for 2024 #OneWord2024


One Word pinecone

I can’t believe it’s here… My annual visit from… 

The Posts of New Year’s Past: 👻 🥳 🎊 🎉

Reflecting on The Posts of New Year’s Past, I have to say I admire my tenacity persistence commitment to the One Word challenge even though I haven’t always done a spectacular job:  

One Word for 2023 was: Breathe. Well, I’m still here so I can say, for certainty, I did breathe. That said, I wish I had been a bit more intentional about it. However, I am loving my 2023 quote: “When life gives you lemons, use them for garnish in the mulled wine after you’ve opened a bottle of red and both of you have breathed.” 🍷

One Word for 2022 was: Embrace. I love the idea of playing an active role in accepting. The idea of leaning into the discomfort and even, if possible, welcoming it. And, honestly, I did a decent job of it. For some things. Other things are difficult to damn near impossible to embrace, if we’re truth-telling. (And we are.)

One Word for 2021 was: Allow. This one was awesome. It worked SO well. I allowed ALL OF THE THINGS. I didn’t struggle, fight, flail, or falter. (My sarcasm didn’t translate well here. So, the only thing I allowed was badly-written sarcasm.) 

One Word for 2020 was: Focus. Focus on one thing at a time to avoid overwhelm? Fab plan, lady. Alas…

One Word for 2019 was: Move. Getting unstuck was sort of the idea. I’m still stuck but heartily sorry for it and flailing for a helping hand out of the pit.

One Word for 2018 was: Self. It was a good choice. It worked. A little. Some of the time. Not as often as I’d hoped.

One Word for 2017 was Accept. I did not accept anything. I sort of UN-accepted pretty much everything. I faltered. Failed. Moved on.

I love all of my choices from the past seven years. I do. But last year’s word goes with this year’s word like cheese and wine. So, I’m keeping breathe as well. I know this sort of (totally) defeats the purpose of the One Word challenge being, you know, two words but… *shrug* I’m a bit of a rebel.

Scrooge and I got our visits again. However, this year, Scrooge and I hung out with our dear friend, George Bailey. As we know, Scrooge promised to change so he could live and George begged, regardless of what happened to him, to live. Oh, to be alive! All else is secondary. All else follows. 

Like Scrooge and Mr. Bailey, I want to live. Really live. And, so, gentle readers, that is exactly what I am going to do.

My focus word for 2024:

LIVE

Again, you intelligent, delightful people do not need a definition for this one, but you’re getting one anyway (*nerd alert*):

live
 

[liv]

 
verb 
  • remain alive:
Um… Yes, please.
 
  • supply oneself with the means of subsistence:
I’m going to go ahead and change “subsistence” to “sustenance”. I shall indulge in the cheeses and chocolates and wines and wonderful foods of the world. Eat, drink, and be merry, I say! 🍷
 
  • have an exciting or fulfilling life:
Well, hello there! Greetings, excitement and fulfillment! Let’s live this life, shall we? 
 
  • make one’s home in a particular place or with a particular person:
And, in between all the excitement, it’s nice to have a place (and people) to come home to. Which I do. And I am blessed to have them. 
 

My quote of 2024: “Why just exist on this planet when you can truly live in the infinite multiverse?” (Or something like that. You get it.) 

Happy New Year, my friends. 💖 Raising a glass to your goals, aspirations, resolutions, or whatever floats your proverbial boat. Cheers! To life! 🥂 

Have you ever taken part in the One Word Challenge?

If you haven’t, why not try it? Or think on it a moment and leave one in the comments. What could your focus be this year? I’d love to hear what your One Word is for 2024.

UPDATE: 2/1/24
Well. It’s been a hell of a start to 2024. But! We are still here. We are doing the living and the breathing, so I say to you, gentle readers, all is well! 💖 Happy Dark Chocolate Day! (Which is, indeed, a thing.) And Happy February, Happy Imbolc, Happy Brigid’s Day! Hope your year is off to a beautiful start! 

 

 

48 thoughts on “My One Word for 2024 #OneWord2024

  1. Add a little Pant to your Breathe, and you’ll really be on to something!
    Seriously, I’m impressed with how long you’ve kept at The Word. There’s a great underlying theme there: Persistence! ❤🐧

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t coz I rarely manage resolutions and I haven’t come up with a word that’s both meaningful and achievable without being frightfully intimidating!! Organise is really the one I need, but to fail further ? No thanks 😉 !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Focus is a great One Word, and Allow…well, we all need that sometimes. Please do give yourself a break. You need it. You deserve it.

      (I knew I could count on you to indulge in the cheese, chocolate, and wine with me. Speaking of which, Happy National Dark Chocolate Day! 🍫❤️ Woot!)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It was so interesting to see all those wonderful words through the years. And your quote (“Why just exist on this planet when you can truly live in the infinite multiverse?”) sums up your choice for this year perfectly, Sarah. Go for it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Greetings during your annual visit 😀 I think the 2023 quote is very apropos and do hope you put it to good use. Embracing uncomfortable things can be very healing, though plenty complicated. As for this year, here’s to living it up. Always wishing you and yours well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.